View Full Version : Sony Insider Forums
beechill_banty
September 07-2009, 02:12 PM
Has anyone on here received an unsolicited mail from someone called Christopher McManus about some Sony Forums?
The subject is "Minidisc Community Forum, ATRACLife Join Sony Insider Forums"
The reason I bring this up is because I was addressed as my forum name in the mail, which says to me that Mr McManus (or the person/bot behind this mail) got my address from the list of forum subscribers. My forum name is used here and the COC forum and nowhere else.
I think the Mods should be looking at this, particularly if I'm not the only person to get this mail.
Steveb
September 07-2009, 02:37 PM
I've not had anything yet, but then it might have been picked off by the spam filters i use. Send me the email to steve@realcycles.com.
BTW- Did it go to the same address you use on those sites? And is your address set as being visble to the public?
beechill_banty
September 07-2009, 03:02 PM
I've not had anything yet, but then it might have been picked off by the spam filters i use. Send me the email to steve@realcycles.com.
BTW- Did it go to the same address you use on those sites? And is your address set as being visble to the public?
Thanks Steve - I sent you the mail. The address I use for the forums is the one it got sent to, and no, it's not publically visible on either.
Ta,
Paul.
Steveb
September 07-2009, 03:25 PM
GOT THE EMAIL. I'll rpely here so others can read it, in case your not alone. Not that I can say much! Essentially I'm at a loss. The back end of the sites hasn't been breached and obviously we don't sell the database to sell anyone, or give it to them.
I don't look after stuff in the backend anymore, MC does, he's on holiday but once he's back I'll get him to look into it some more.
My only idea is that your user name and email addy may be in other users address books due to the PM system and the email notification system, but that's a very uneducated idea!
Obviously if anyone else gets a similar email let me know here or via PM.
a2themfk
September 07-2009, 04:49 PM
I got one also but mines legit, ive had one or two of these invites before as i was a member of a sony mp3 based forum ATRAClife for queries regarding my hd5 walkman. That forum was wrapped up and all moved to the sonyinsider forum re here - http://www.sonyinsider.com/2009/08/21/minidisc-community-forums-and-atraclife-merging-with-sony-insider-forums/
mc
September 08-2009, 07:01 PM
I've just had a quick look into this, and as only two people have admitted to getting the email, how confident are you, that you've never signed up previously?
A quick search of the members there, turned up your profile - http://forums.sonyinsider.com/index.php?showuser=95441
It shows you signed up on 16-Feb-2007, and havn't been active on the site since then...
(was there not a big sony walkman discussion on here sometime in the distant past, which may of led to links to some of the sony related forums?)
sonyinsider
September 08-2009, 09:45 PM
Hey, I own Sony Insider and I sent the e-mail out to anyone who registered at Minidisc Community Forums, ATRACLife, and Sony Insider. It is legit. :)
p.s. I found this conversation through a Google search.
Conor
September 08-2009, 10:16 PM
Has anyone on here received an unsolicited mail from someone called Christopher McManus about some Sony Forums?
The subject is "Minidisc Community Forum, ATRACLife Join Sony Insider Forums"
The reason I bring this up is because I was addressed as my forum name in the mail, which says to me that Mr McManus (or the person/bot behind this mail) got my address from the list of forum subscribers. My forum name is used here and the COC forum and nowhere else.
I think the Mods should be looking at this, particularly if I'm not the only person to get this mail.
Fail ;)
beechill_banty
September 09-2009, 06:19 AM
I've just had a quick look into this, and as only two people have admitted to getting the email, how confident are you, that you've never signed up previously?
A quick search of the members there, turned up your profile - http://forums.sonyinsider.com/index.php?showuser=95441
It shows you signed up on 16-Feb-2007, and havn't been active on the site since then...
(was there not a big sony walkman discussion on here sometime in the distant past, which may of led to links to some of the sony related forums?)
Well, it appears I did sign up to this then, who'd have thunk it !? I'm getting on a bit, prob just losing the marbles ;)
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.9 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.